laurent gras: juggling five workouts, 400 bike miles and a 90-hour work week

THE WORLD-RENOWNED CHEF AND OWNER OF CHICAGO’S L20 RESTAURANT TAKES US THROUGH A “NORMAL” WEEK.

By Dean Stattmann


You have low body fat. How hard is it to maintain that while working with food all day?
I’m pretty skinny right now. I’m 153 pounds and 5’10, so I don’t have a lot of fat on me. But I’m extremely active and extremely dynamic. I don’t have an office, I don’t have a seat, I’m always in the kitchen working with the staff and doing things. I’m working from 8 in the morning until midnight or 1 a.m. I’m always running around

How does your personal diet complement your high level of fitness?
I would say protein, carbohydrates and low fat. I eat here at the restaurant, so I eat with the staff. In terms of protein, I eat chicken, beef, fish, mussels, pork, whatever. And then for carbohydrates I’ll have potatoes or vegetables. We’ll do soup also and we do salads every day. Nothing expensive but everything is a good quality product. It’s fresh and there is no cream and no butter. It’s healthy food.

You’ve said you ride about 400 miles a week on your bike during the warmer months. How do you divide that up?
Mornings and afternoons. So usually I try to do two or three mornings for an hour and a half. I start at 7 a.m. and I’m done by 8:30 a.m. And I try to do a three-hour ride one afternoon, and that’s usually between 1 p.m. and 4 p.m. And then on my day off I do a long ride. I usually do 100 miles.


This entry was posted in Clips, Drink, Eat, Fitness, Lifestyle, Sport, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

